Rule suggestion : salary cap

For suggestions / requests to improve the league (e.g. rules change proposals, etc)
llmolsonll
Team: Montreal
Fav NHL Team: Habs
Organization Report URL Number: 6

Rule suggestion : salary cap

Post by llmolsonll » Mon 10 Dec '12 11:48pm

There are ways to circumvent our 85M$ salary cap, such as incentives which are accounted for after the season and releasing players to resign others during the season. Total players expenses regularly blow the 85M$ actual payroll cap around the league.

Should we move towards a higher payroll or another option such as a luxury tax? (Im pretty sure luxury tax applies on player expenses, cant go around dumping players)

barracus79
Team: Toronto
Fav MLB Team: Atlanta Braves
Organization Report URL Number: 15

Re: Rule suggestion : salary cap

Post by barracus79 » Tue 11 Dec '12 8:19am

I'm not really good with league financials, so I'm not familiar with luxury tax or how well it works. however, I wouldn't be against having another $5M to spend ($90M cap) what with the salary demands of the players these days...
Toronto Barons Official Website
2040, 2054 CBL Champions

JAttractive
Posting Freak
Team: Niagara
Fav MLB Team: Blue Jays
Fav NHL Team: Leafs - Boycotting
Organization Report URL Number: 11

Post by JAttractive » Tue 11 Dec '12 4:54pm

I'd like to see 5 million more to spend, this is not the same OOTP when we made that limit. Luxury tax is fine as well.

I don't have a problem with releasing players etc. to circumvent the cap. I think those are interesting decisions/strategies. I didn't think we were even allowed to add incentives to contracts though. Truth is I probably have them in my contracts without even knowing it as I pay 0 attention to that area and thus, if a player asked for them he will get them and I would have no idea.

ill16ca
Posting Freak
Team: Saskatoon
Fav MLB Team: Jays
Organization Report URL Number: 19

Post by ill16ca » Tue 11 Dec '12 5:21pm